MANDATORY CE UPDATE: All dentist and dental hygienists will be required to complete 30 hours of continuing education beginning MARCH 1, 2016. The first 30 hours must be completed between March 1, 2016 and February 28, 2018 (when you renew your license again).
“Effective March 1, 2016, every licensee with an active license in Colorado is required to complete 30 hours of Board approved continuing education during the 2 years preceding the next renewal period to ensure patient safety and professional competency, pursuant to section 12-35-139, C.R.S. Continuing education hours may only be applied to the renewal period in which they were completed. ” – Colorado Dental Board Rules and Regulations
See below documents for details on which hours will be accepted by the Colorado Dental Board.
Colorado Dental Board Documents:
Colorado Dental Practice Act – effective July 1, 2015
Colorado Dental Rules and Regulations – effective October 4, 2016
CDHA Fact Sheets for Dental Hygienists:
2016 Fact Sheet (NEW) – May 2016
Dental Hygiene Fact Sheet – January 2015: Sunset Bill
- Dental Hygiene “Clean-Up” Bill: HB 17-1010 NEW!
- Introduced to the Colorado House of Representatives on January 11, 2017
- Passed unanimously through the House Health, Insurance, and Environment Committee on January 24, 2017
- Created as the result of task force meetings involving CDA and CDHA
- Removes limiting language in Practice Act regarding laser use by dental hygienists and allows the Colorado Dental Board to promulgate rules allowing dental hygienists to utilize lasers to the full extent of our scope of practice
- Clarifies language regarding placement of therapeutic agents as part of the Limited Prescriptive Authority for Dental Hygienists
- Allows hygienists who are practicing in unsupervised settings to obtain and administer emergency drugs subject to the collaborating dentist and future Dental Board rules
- Read the full bill HERE
- Interim Therapeutic Restoration Draft Bill: HB15-1309
- Passed through the House and Senate as of May 6, 2015!
- Read the full bill HERE
- Read the Rules and Regulations document above to see full details of training and certification requirements.
- ITR Permit Course will be offered on January 6, 2017 at Community College of Denver. For more information, visit www.ccd.edu
- To apply for an ITR Permit, visit the Colorado Dental Board’s website.
- Sunset Practice Act Bill: HB 14-1227
- Senate Bill 15-031: Killed In Committee
- Would have allowed reciprocity for anyone licensed for any profession in any state to practice in Colorado for one year without applying for Colorado license. CDHA opposed this bill via our lobbyists
- Senate Bill 14-004: Community College 4-Year Degree
- The bill allows the State Board of the Community Colleges and Occupational Education (state Board) to seek approval from the Colorado Commission on higher education (CCHE) for technical, career, and workforce development Bachelor of Applied Science Degree programs that may be offered at Community Colleges within the state system. **BAS programs must meet the criteria set forth in the Bill.
The Colorado Dental Board is the regulatory agency of the dental hygiene profession. See the website to review your legal requirements for maintaining your license and your practice. Encourage consumers to look up licensing information of the dental hygienists and dentists in the dental office where they are considering treatment.
For information about the Colorado Dental Board, applications, and full updated documents, please visit